Japan’s World Heritage Sites!

As of July, 2014, there are a total of 18 World Heritage Sites located within Japan.


14 of these are cultural heritage sites, and four are natural. We would like to introduce to you six of these World Heritage Sites here. First up are Japan’s natural sites, and we would like to start with Shiretoko, known as Japan’s last frontier. Next, we have the Shirakami-Sanchi, a forested mountainous area of Siebold’s beech trees untouched by human hands.


For cultural sites, Shirakawa-go is a beautifully preserved example of Japan’s Gassho-style houses. Itsukushima Shrine, with its Otorii built in the sea itself, leaves a powerful impression on visitors. Himeji-jo is said to be the greatest Japanese castle in existence.


The Kii Mountains have a number of temples and shrines built amidst the forests and mountains, and see large numbers of worshippers each year. Visit these and other World Heritage Sites in Japan to experience the real Japan, a Japan filled with verdant forests and cultural masterpieces.


About My Tokyo Guide

My Tokyo Guide Blog was created in collaboration with My Tokyo Guide website to offer additional and up-to-the-date information and pictures about Japan Tours, Climbing Mt. Fuji. Japan hot springs etc.
This entry was posted in Tokyo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s